The Chief of Staff, Army (CSA) Retired Soldier Council, chartered by Headquarters, Department of the Army, is made up of seven retired officers and seven retired enlisted Soldiers and is co-chaired by a retired lieutenant general and a retired sergeant major of the Army. Prospective members are nominated by their local retiree councils and approved by the CSA. At its annual meeting, the CSA Retired Soldier Council reviews issues forwarded by local retiree councils and advises the CSA on the most pressing issues.

The CSA Retired Soldier Council's mission is:

  • A. To provide the Chief of Staff, Army with advice and recommendations regarding vital issues and concerns of Retired Soldiers, surviving spouses, and their Families.
  • B. To provide the Chief of Staff, Army with an assessment of how current Army programs and initiatives and proposals for new laws and policies may affect the retired community.
  • C. To strengthen communications between the Active Army, the Army National Guard, the U.S. Army Reserve, and the retired community.

CSA Retired Soldier Council Members

CSA Retired Soldier Council Members
Members of the 2019 Chief of Staff, Army Retired Soldier Council (From L to R, front row): COL (Ret) Many-Bears Grinder, COL (Ret) Lenore Enzel, LTG (Ret) David D. Halverson, SMA (Ret) Raymond F. Chandler, CSM (Ret) Divina B. Bobb, MSG (Ret) William K. Burns, (second row): COL (Ret) Norris Posehn, MSG (Ret) Miguel Padilla, SGM (Ret) Michael A. Walker, SGM (Ret) Edward D. Mounts, COL (Ret) Karl M. Goetzke, (third row): CSM (Ret) Ralph Rusch, MG (Ret) Robert Kasulke and CW5 (Ret) David Ratliff. Photo by Army Multimedia & Visual Information Directorate.